RSS

Devil’s Tongue and Cabbage

24 Mar

So Japan is known for sushi, anime and technology. My area, Gunma, is known for…cabbage. That’s right, cabbage. And devil’s tongue, also called konnyaku. Devil’s tongue, if you’ve never heard of it (and I don’t blame you if you haven’t) is a good diet food popular among women. Personally, it seems to be an acquired taste and I haven’t acquired it yet (pun intended).

Konnyaku gummy snacks come with a warning to children and the elderly actually. Make sure to chew well! When the healthy snack first came out, there were a few deaths because of it, and my teacher says that each year there are a couple of more due to not chewing enough before swallowing. If you look it up on the internet, there are also people who choke on New Year’s mochi (rice cakes) each year and die.

On a happier note, there should be some little bitty birds in the picture…good luck finding them though, I think they’re ninja birds!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 24/03/2011 in Foods, Places

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Devil’s Tongue and Cabbage

  1. Nancy Levin

    24/03/2011 at 10:13 pm

    Jennifer – I looked, I really did but I could not find any birds. I will tell you one thing your Grandfather K would die if he saw just how close those cabbages are planted. Devil’s Tongue sounds intriguing but dying while dieting doesn’t work for me! Love you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
