RSS

Japanese School Uniforms

18 May

My girls, though shy, were kind enough to let me take a photo of their uniform to put on my blog (yes, they understood that the picture was going on the internet).

So, on the left we have the winter uniform with cardigan while on the right we have the summer uniform. Both versions have to have the tie and high socks, though I have seen some of my girls wearing tights or high blue socks. And yes, winter or summer they have to wear a skirt.

(I know one ALT was complaining about seeing her girls get into trouble in the winter because they’ll ride to school with pants on under their skirt. I haven’t caught any of mine doing that, but every winter I’ll see them break out the fleece blankets to drape over their legs during class.)

The summer uniform has the name of my school, Seimei, and both of them have the little liter looking mark (left chest of winter uniform / left arm of summer uniform).

When you live in a city in Japan, the first year you’ll see different uniformed students walking around, on the train or biking somewhere. After that, you’ll start collecting information about which uniform goes to which school. Then, after that, you’ll notice the uniforms of the schools your friends teach at in different cities.

Seriously. I can probably tell you the high school uniforms in the city of Isesaki. 🙂

And my girls want their uniform to look more like a sailor outfit. 😉

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 18/05/2011 in School

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Japanese School Uniforms

  1. Robin

    18/05/2011 at 8:24 pm

    I heard that some of my students applied to my school just for the uniform. It’s one of the most popular uniforms in HS in Gunma. My jaw dropped. Picking a HS just on the uniform! Who’d a thunk it?!

     
  2. eleseeapeno

    30/08/2011 at 2:41 am

    Hey, the post is very practical for me. I definitely will continue to keep a close eye on your blog. Please do update.

     

Leave a Reply

 
